Organizational Structure

Organizational Structure

ACCIS Leadership Team

as of August 2015

Board of Trustees

Tamar Adegbile, Cate School (Past Board Chair)
Renee Bischoff, Hawken School (Board, Treasurer)
David Burke, The Pembroke Hill School (Board, Strategic Planning Chair)
Steve Frappier, The Westminster Schools (Deputy Executive Director)
Emmi Harward, The Bishop’s School (Executive Director)

Thomas C. Hudnut, retired head of school; Consultant, RG175 (Board, non-member expert)
Peter Jennings, Concord Academy (Board)
Larry Momo, Trinity School (Board Chair)
Gunnar Olson, Indian Springs School (Board, Governance & Nominating Chair)
Jenny Rickard, Vice President for Enrollment, University of Puget Sound (Board, non-member expert)
Ari Worthman, Lakeside School (Secretary/Board Chair-Elect; Program co-chair)

Committee Chairs

Gretchen Bergill, Phillips Exeter Academy (Founding Schools)
Mary Hill, St. Paul Academy & Summit School (Program co-chair/At-Large member)
Lisa Clay, Parish Episcopal School (Organizational Advancement co-chair)
Kristen Learner, The Benjamin School (Organizational Advancement co-chair)
Thad Robey, Thayer Academy (Finance)
Kelly Richards, St. George's School (At-Large member)
Jody Sweeney, William Penn Charter School (Communications)
Ari Worthman, Lakeside School (Program co-chair)

Member Services Coordinator: Rhonda Collins
Bookkeeper: Michelle Belanger


Governance and Nominating Committee

Chair: Gunnar Olson
Subcommittee Chair: Scott Mayer, St. Christopher’s School (Bylaws/Elections)

The Governance/Nominating Committee oversees the election and appointment of new members to the ACCIS Leadership Team. It makes recommendations and vets candidates for elections. This committee also administers the bylaws and other governing documents, ensuring adherence, recommending iprovements, and overseeing changes.

Strategic Planning Committee

Chair: David Burke
Subcommittee Chairs: Gretchen Bergill (Founding Schools), Aaron Fulk, Collegiate School, VA (Research)

The Strategic Planning Committee oversees and coordinates all research and education initiatives, conducts surveys to collect data about national and international issues in education, analyzes trends, disseminates conclusions, functions as a clearinghouse for related information, and maintains the document library on the website. This committee also develops long-range plans for ACCIS. The Founding Schools subcommittee, which represents the 42 Founding Schools of ACCIS is under Strategic Planning. 

Finance Committee

Chair: Thad Robey

The Finance Committee advises the organization on budgetary policy and issues, revenue generation, and membership dues and fees. This committee recommends an annual budget to be approved by the Board of Trustees, assures the occurrence and quality of annual audits, and monitors the implementation and enforcement of investment strategies approved by the Board of Trustees.

Organizational Advancement Committee

Co-Chairs: Lisa Clay, Kristen Learner
Subcommittee chair: TBA (Membership)

The Organizational Advancement Committee creates marketing strategies to support and advance the work of college counselors, their schools, and the profession. Strategies include encouraging association membership and developing relationships with professional associations, foundations, corporations, colleges and universities, and individuals.

Program Committee

Co-Chairs: Mary Hill, Ari Worthman
Subcommittee Chairs: Nikki Magaziner Mills, St. Albans School and Matt Mettille, Georgetown Day School (Summer Institute); Amy Wintermeyer, The Athenian School (Training and Support); Kelly Richards (Colloquia); Michele Davis, Woodward Academy (Tours); TBA (Community Outreach)

The Program Committee plans, coordinates and implements all institutes and workshops of the Association, including the annual Summer Institute, Colloquia, New Counselor workshop, ACCIS college tours, Community Outreach, and the Assistants’ program. The chair and subcommittee chairs coordinate on planning of programming, as well as with hosts and vendors at respective sites.

Communications Committee

Chair: Jody Sweeney
Subcommittee Chairs: Sam Bigelow, Middlesex School (Blog); Mindy Rose, Lawrenceville School (Newsletter); Leigh Barnett, The Winston School (Technology/Website)

The Communication Committee oversees content development of major Association publications in print and electronic media. The committee provides a professional voice for the college counselors through conference presentations, journal articles, commendations on good practices, and media responses. The committee shall develop appropriate means of communication with Association members, and develop and manage communication using all available technology.


ACCIS Bylaws, last revision April 2013